The Annual Meetings, Bruegel’s flagship event took place during the 6-7.09.2016 in Brussels. Bruegel is a European think-tank, pursuing open and fact-based research, analysis and debate.

Bruegel members, scholars and stakeholders gather every year at the Annual Meetings to debate on key issues of European and global economics. DELab UW representatives also participated in this year’s edition: Prof. Katarzyna Śledziewska, the Executive Director, dr Renata Włoch, the Coordinator of the Sociological Program and Kristóf Gyódi, Analyst. Besides discussions on macroeconomic policy (the highlight was the debate on the future of the common European currency), the session on innovation policies was the most inspiring for DELab, where issues such as innovation policy experimentation, or the role of universities were tackled.

You can find high-quality audio recordings of all sessions here.

Bruegel, committed to transparency and independence, is evaluated every three year by an independent committee: the Bruegel Review Task Force (RTF). The current RTF, reviewing the activity of Bruegel in the period 2013-2016, is chaired by Prof. Katarzyna Śledziewska. The remaining members are:

Frances Cairncross: BBC Journalist, Economist, Academic,
Otmar Issing: President at Center for Financial Studies, former member of the Executive Board at the European Central Bank,
Enrico Letta: Former Prime Minister of Italy,
Xavier Ragot: President OFCE (French Economic Observatory).

The work of the RTF is supported by dr Renata Włoch. During the review process, Renata and Katarzyna conducted more than 20 interviews with Bruegel stakeholders, including members of the Bruegel Board: Jean-Claude Trichet (former President of the European Central Bank), Jerzy Hausner (Cracow University of Economics), Wolfgang Franz (former Head of the ZEW Research Institute in Mannheim) and many others.